Spells and Magic

Casting Spells

Arcane spells require the involvement of both hands in order to complete spell casting. This does not prohibit a character from holding arcane bonded objects, spell components or focos, or spell completion items, as these items are involved in the casting of the spell. Note that this means that although a wizard can hold an arcane bonded weapon while casting a spell, the hand holding the weapon and the weapon itself is occupied in the completion of a spell. This means that the difficulty class for casting defensively while casting an arcane spell is increased by 5.

Divine spells require only the involvement of one hand. This allows divine spellcasters to hold shields, weapons, or any other item that may be held in one hand in one hand while casting divine spells.

Learning Spells

Specialist wizards may not add spells from opposition schools upon gaining a new wizard level. They may, however, learn spells from opposition schools from another spellbook or scroll with the standard -5 penalty to their spellcraft roll.



Categories: General Campaign Rules

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License